Home » national news » Modi Cabinet reshuffle: Here is the full list of union ministers with their updated portfolios

Modi Cabinet reshuffle: Here is the full list of union ministers with their updated portfolios

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 3 September 2017, 14:32 IST
Modi Cabinet reshuffle

As the nine new ministers took oath in fresh cabinet reshuffle in Prime Mnister Narendra Modi's government, four ministers - Piyush Goyal, Nirmala Sitharaman, Dharmendra Pradhan, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi - were elevated to the cabinet level.

Union Minister Piyush Goyal has been given the charge of Railway Ministry, post the mega Cabinet rejig on Sunday morning.

This comes after Suresh Prabhu formally bade adieu to the 'rail family' on Twitter, earlier in the day. He has now been assigned the portfolio of the Minister of Commerce and Industry.

Goyal has also been declared as the Minister of Coal. He has been responsible in bringing about a turnaround in power production and delivered on the government's plan to electrify villages.

Nirmala Sitharaman has been assigned the charge of the Defence Ministry, becoming only the second woman to hold the post since late Indira Gandhi.

Following this, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley took over, but only recently, he had hinted that he would not remain the defence minister for long.

Dharmendra Pradhan has been promoted to the Cabinet rank of Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas; and Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship.

Let us have a look at all the existing ministers of Modi Cabinet and their portfolios.

Narendra Modi– Prime Minister, Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy Department of Space, All important policy issues and all other portfolios not allocated to any Minister

Rajnath Singh– Home Affairs

Sushma Swaraj– External Affairs, Overseas Indian Affairs

Arun Jaitley– Finance, Corporate Affairs

Nitin Gadkari– Road Transport and Highways, Shipping; additional charge of Ministry of Water Resources, River Development Ganga Rejuvenation.

Uma Bharti- Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation.

Suresh Prabhu– Railways (He is likely to be moved to another ministry)

D V Sadananda Gowda– Statistics & Programme Implementation

Ramvilas Paswan– Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

Maneka Gandhi– Women and Child Development

Ananth Kumar– Chemicals and Fertilizers and Parliamentary Affairs

Ravi Shankar Prasad– Communications and Information Technology; Law and Justice

Jagat Prakash Nadda– Health and Family Welfare

Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati– Civil Aviation

Anant Geete– Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

Harsimrat Kaur Badal– Food Processing Industries

Narendra Singh Tomar– Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Drinking Water and Sanitation, with additional charge of Ministry of Urban Development; Also Ministry of Mines

Chaudhary Birender Singh– Steel

Jual Oram– Tribal Affairs

Radha Mohan Singh– Agriculture

Thaawar Chand Gehlot– Social Justice and Empowerment

Smriti Zubin Irani– Ministry of Textile with an additional charge of Information and Broadcasting.

Dr. Harsh Vardhan– Minister of Science and Technology and Earth Sciences

New Cabinet Ministers, who took oath on September 3, 2017

Piyush Goyal: Ministry of Railways

Nirmala Sitharaman: Defence Minister

Dharmendra Pradhan: Petroleum Ministry, Skill Development and Entrepreneurship ministry

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi: Parliamentary Affairs Minister

MINISTER OF STATE (Independent Charge)

General (Retd) V K Singh– Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge), External Affairs, Overseas Indian Affairs

Inderjit Singh Rao– Planning (Independent Charge), Statistics and Programme Implementation (Independent Charge), Defence

Santosh Kumar Gangwar– Textiles (Independent Charge)

Shripad Yesso Naik– AYUSH (Independent Charge), Health & Family Welfare

Sarbananda Sonowal– Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge)

Prakash Javadekar– Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge)

Jitendra Singh– Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge), Prime Minister’s Office Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Department of Atomic Energy, Department of Space

Mahesh Sharma– Culture (Independent Charge), Tourism (Independent Charge), Civil Aviation


Vijay Goel: MoS, Parliamentary Affairs and MoS Statistics and Program Implementation

Ram Kripal Yadav– Drinking Water and Sanitation

Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary– Home Affairs

Sanwar Lal Jat– Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation

Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai Kundariya– Agriculture

Giriraj Singh– Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

Hansraj Gangaram Ahir– Chemicals & Fertilizers

G M Siddeshwara– Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

Manoj Sinha– Railways

Nihalchand– Panchayati Raj

Upendra Kushwaha– Human Resources Development

Radhakrishnan P– Road Transport and Highways, Shipping

Kiren Rijiju– Home Affairs

Krishan Pal– Social Justice and Empowerment

Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava– Tribal Affairs

Vishnu Deo Sai– Mines, Steel

Sudarshan Bhagat– Rural Development

Prof. (Dr.) Ram Shankar Katheria– Human Resource Development

Y S Chowdary– Science and Technology, Earth Science

Jayant Sinha– Finance

Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore– Information and Broadcasting; Also Minister (Independent Charge) of Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports

Babul Supria (Babul Supriyo) Baral– Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation

Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti– Food Processing Industries

Vijay Sampla– Social Justice & Empowerment

New Ministers who took oath on September 3, 2017:

Ashwini Kumar Choubey

Shiv Pratap Shukla

Virendra Kumar

Anantkumar Hegde

Raj Kumar Singh: Ministry of State (Independent Charge) of Ministry of Power & Ministry of New and Renewable Energy.

Hardeep Singh Puri: MoS Urban Development Ministry

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat

Satya Pal Singh

Alphons Kannanthanam: MoS (Independent Charge) Ministry of Tourism and MoS Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology.

(With agencies inputs)

First published: 3 September 2017, 14:20 IST