Home » National News » Many states denied representation in CWC

Many states denied representation in CWC

News Agencies | Updated on: 18 July 2018, 9:07 IST

Several states have not been given representation in the reconstituted Congress Working Committee (CWC), headed by Congress President Rahul Gandhi.

West Bengal, Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and Jharkhand have not been accommodated in the committee, whereas some of the states have been given a huge chunk in comparison.

Four Kerala leaders namely Oommen Chandy, A K Antony, KC Venugopal and PC Chacko have been given space in the new CWC.

Meanwhile, Haryana's Kumari Selja, Randeep Singh Surjewala, Deepender Hooda and Kuldeep Bishnoi are included in the list.

A total of 51 members were included in the new CWC, while first-time in-charges of states were included as permanent invitees.

Senior Congress leaders Digvijaya Singh, Kamal Nath, Sushil Kumar Shinde, Mohan Prakash, CP Joshi and Shashi Tharoor have not been included in the new CWC.

The CWC includes 23 members, 19 permanent invitees, and nine special invitees in total.
The members include Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi, Dr Manmohan Singh, Motilal Vora, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Mallikarjun Kharge, AK Antony, Ahmed Patel, Ambika Soni, Oommen Chandy, Tarun Gogoi, Siddaramaiah, Anand Sharma, Harish Rawat, Kumari Selja, Mukul Wasnik, Avinash Pande, KC Venugopal, Dipak Babaria, Tamradhwaj Sahu, Raghuveer Meena, Gaikhangam and Ashok Gehlot.


First published: 18 July 2018, 9:07 IST