Home » National News » LS Results 2019: PM Modi thanks India for emphatic win, says 'together we prosper'

LS Results 2019: PM Modi thanks India for emphatic win, says 'together we prosper'

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 23 May 2019, 15:58 IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated India for the landslide victory of Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA government. As trends showed NDA's comfortable win in the 17th Lok Sabha election, PM Modi took to Twitter to wish India and said together we prosper.

" सबका साथ + सबका विकास + सबका विश्वास = विजयी भारत Together we grow. Together we prosper. Together we will build a strong and inclusive India. India wins yet again!" tweeted PM Narendra Modi.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is leading from Uttar Pradesh Varanasi constituency. PM Narendra Modi leading by over 419996 votes from UP's Varanasi. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is in faceoff with Congress' Ajay Rai Congress and SP-BSP candidate Shalini Yadav.

PM Narendra Modi's main opponents Ajay Rai of Congress and Shalini Yadav of SP is trailing. Varanasi went for polls in the last phase of Lok Sabha election 2019 on May 19.

A total of 25 contestants has contested against the PM Modi from Kashi. Ealie in 2014, PM Modi had 41 candidates contesting the poll against him, inlcuding Arvind Kejriwal.

In 2014, PM Modi had landslide victory against Aam Aadmi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal. PM Modi won the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat by defeating Arvind Kejriwal by a massive margin of 3.37 lakh votes. PM Narendra Modi had received 5, 16,593 votes -- about half of the total votes.

Ajay Rai had secured mere 75,614 votes in 2014 and stood third while BSP candidate Vijay Prakash Jaiswal had got 60,579 votes.

First published: 23 May 2019, 15:15 IST