Home » National News » Lok Sabha Election 2019: Congress releases second list, Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar included

Lok Sabha Election 2019: Congress releases second list, Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar included

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 14 March 2019, 11:56 IST
Rahul Gandhi and Raj Babbar

As the 2019 Lok Sabha election is around the corner, Congress party is all geared to contest and challenge the ruling BJP as they have now announced their second list which includes Priya Dutt and UP Congress chief Raj Babbar.

Senior Congress men and former Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal has been fielded from Kanpur, whereas actor-turned politician Raj Babbar has been given the Moradabad seat from UP. Former Congress MP Sunil Dutt’s daughter Priya Dutt has been nominated from Mumbai North-Central.

Priya Dutt, who made her debut in politics in 2005 and won the seat, retained it in 2009 but from it’s BJP’s Poonam Mahajan who holds the seat currently and if the BJP fields the same candidate, it would be a political battle between two women stalwart of Mumbai.

The list also includes former Minister Milind Deora from South Mumbai and Kisan Congress chief Nana Patole. Raj Babbar has been out of the Parliament since he lost the 2014 Lok Sabha polls to BJP’s Gen. V.K Singh in Ghaziabad. Babbar had successfully contested from Firozabad By-polls in 2009, when he defeated SP chief Akhilesh Yadav’s wife Dimple Yadav.

The BJP rebel Savitri Bai Phule has been awarded with the Lok Sabha ticket from the Bahraich constituency, where she had contested successfully in 2014.

The Election Commission had earlier announced the date polls which is to begin from April 11 and the counting will happen on May 23.

Also read: Congress on China blocking Masood Azhar: Questions PM Modi's spirit, mentions Wuhan summit

First published: 14 March 2019, 11:56 IST