Home » National News » Karnataka CM oath ceremony Updates: BJP's BS Yeddyurappa sworn-in as the 23rd CM of the state; Congress, JD(S) protest outside Raj Bhavan

Karnataka CM oath ceremony Updates: BJP's BS Yeddyurappa sworn-in as the 23rd CM of the state; Congress, JD(S) protest outside Raj Bhavan

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 17 May 2018, 10:24 IST
Karnataka CM BS Yeddyurappa

BJP's B S Yeddyurappa takes oath as the 23rd chief minister of Karnataka even as none of the council of ministers was sworn in today. Amid of BJP's victory celebration, Congress and JD(S) leaders arrive at Vidhan Soudha to protest against B S Yeddyurappa's swearing-in as 23rd chief minister of Karnataka. 

After refusing the petition by Supreme Court filed by the Congress-JD(S) over the stay on the oath ceremony of Karnataka CM. Now, BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa get ready to take an oath today in Raj Bhavan at 9 am. However, member of Congress and JD(s) are not happy with the apex court decision and they are gearing up to protest outside during the swearing-in ceremony of Yeddyurappa. Considering that situation may turn to sensitive phase, therefore, 16,000 policemen have been deployed in the state capital to maintain the law and order in the state capital.

Here are the important updates of Karnataka CM oath ceremony:

9:53 am (IST): Congress holds protest at Mahatma Gandhi's statue in Vidhan Soudha, against BS Yeddyurappa's swearing in as CM of #Karnataka.


9:35 am (IST): BS Yeddyurappa's swearing-in ceremony over, Congress MLAs and leaders, including GN Azad, Ashok Gehlot and Siddaramaiah, gather at Mahatma Gandhi's statue in Vidhan Soudha keep on doing protest.


9:28 am(IST): BJP workers are celebrating their victory after their leader BS Yeddyurappa was sworn in as Chief Minister of Karnataka.


9:08 am (IST): The important fact of this oath ceremony is that only the BS Yeddyurappa has taken oath and none of the council of ministers.


9:07 am (IST): Congress president Rahul Gandhi says BJP is celebrating its 'hollow victory'.


9:01 am (IST): B S Yeddyurappa takes an oath.


8:52 am (IST): B S Yeddyurappa arrives at Raj Bhawan for swearing-in ceremony. 


May 17, 2018; 8:39 am (IST): Governor Vajabhai Vala is all set to administer an oath to the 23rd Karnataka chief minister even as the oath is 'subject to further orders of the Supreme Court and final outcome of the writ petition.'


8:36 am (IST): B S Yeddyurappa leaves for Raj Bhavan to take oath as 23rd Karnataka chief minister


Late last night, Congress and JD(S) challenged Karnataka Governor Vajubhai R. Vala's decision in the top court to invite BJP to form the government even when the saffron party, with 105 MLAs, including one Independent MLA, is seven short of the halfway mark of 112.

They contended that they, with a total strength of 115 MLAs, are in a better position to form the government.

Though Vala has invited the BJP to form the government, he has given 15 days to the saffron party to prove its majority in the state assembly.

-ANI inputs

Watch Video:

First published: 17 May 2018, 8:55 IST