Home » National News » From Himachal Pradesh to Kerala; 5 states get new Governors

From Himachal Pradesh to Kerala; 5 states get new Governors

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 1 September 2019, 16:07 IST

President of India Ram Nath Kovind appointed five new governors of five states on September 1, 2019 (Sunday).

Let’s have a look at the new faces of Governors of 5 states:

1. New Governor of Rajasthan:


Kalraj Mishra, who was the Governor of Himachal Pradesh, now appointed as the Governor of Rajasthan by President of India. He will replace the outgoing Governor Kalyan Singh.

2. New Governor of Telangana:

Tamil Nadu BJP chief Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan will now be a new governor of Telangana by replacing ESL Narasimhan.

3. New Governor of Himachal Pradesh:


The former Union Minister Bandaru Dattatreya is the new face of Himachal Pradesh as Governor. He will take over the role of Governor by replacing Kalraj Mishra.


4. New Governor of Kerala


Arif Mohammed Khan who earlier quit the government of Rajiv Gandhi, appointed as the governor of Kerala on Sunday. Khan exit from Congress-led government was over the Shah Bano case and has been cited many times by BJP in triple talaq debates. Arif has also supported the Modi-led government decision on scrapping of Article 370. Arif Khan has replaced P Sathasivam.

5. New Governor of Maharashtra


Ram Nath Kovind has appointed Bhagat Singh Koshyari as the new governor of Maharashtra on Sunday. He has replaced Vidyasagar Rao.

Also Read: Won Amethi because I did not treat people as vote bank: Smriti Irani


First published: 1 September 2019, 15:58 IST