Home » national news » Centre confirms receiving proposal for extension of ST areas in Himachal Pradesh

Centre confirms receiving proposal for extension of ST areas in Himachal Pradesh

News Agencies | Updated on: 4 January 2018, 16:36 IST
Parliament (ANI)

The Centre has confirmed receiving a proposal for extension of Scheduled Tribes areas in Himachal Pradesh.

Union Minister of State for Tribal Affairs Sudarshan Bhagat informed Shimla Member Parliament Virender Kashyap that his ministry has received proposals for declaration/extension of scheduled areas from the Government of Himachal Pradesh.

He said that the proposal has called for the notifying of the entire Trans-Giri area of Sirmour district, Dodra Kwar Sub-Division of Shimla district, and certain areas of Shimla and Kullu districts as Scheduled Areas in Himachal Pradesh for inclusion in Schduled Tribe areas

Bhagat told Kashyap that Bhot, Bodh, Gaddi , Gujjar,. Jad, Lamba, Khampa,. Kanaura, Kinnara, Lahaula, Pangwala, Swangla, Beta and Beda castes in Himachal Pradesh have been declared as Scheduled Tribes in Himachal Pradesh.

Bhagat further said that various states have sent proposals for inclusion of various communities in the list of STs and added that state wise Andhra Pradesh has sent (2) Arunachal Pradesh (3) Assam (8), Bihar( 2),. Chhattisgarh( 28),Goa (1), J&K (1), Jharkhand (9), Karnataka (9), Kerala( 3),. Madhya Pradesh (7), Manipur (2), Odisha (16). Punjab (1), Sikkim (1), Tamil Nadu (8), Tripura (1) Uttarakhand (1) Uttar Pradesh (2),. West Bengal( 3) and Puducherry 1 community for inclusion in list of Scheduled Tribes in their respective states. 


First published: 4 January 2018, 16:36 IST