Home » national news » Arvind Kejriwal trying to rein his corporators: BJP

Arvind Kejriwal trying to rein his corporators: BJP

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 28 April 2017, 9:30 IST

On 28 April, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) hit out at Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal over his 'pledge to not ditch the pure party' instruction to his corporators and termed the AAP chief as an 'autocrat' who is trying to rein his corporators.

BJP leader S. Prakash said Kejriwal's comments indicate that he has no faith in his own corporators.

"Kejriwal, after losing the MCD polls, is now trying to take a roll in the comedy time conducted by Kapil Sharma. His EVM excuses, charges against the MCD's inaction have all been rejected by the people of Delhi. He is not able to understand the ground reality. He continues to be an autocrat and rein his corporators even before they take oath. He has no faith in his own corporators, which is evident from his speech he has delivered before them," Prakash told ANI.

BJP's Shazia Ilmi said the Delhi Chief Minister has realised that his vicious cycle of conspiracy, blame game, allegations have come to an end.

"Look at the desperation of the man. He knows that his party is imploding. He knows that this whole vicious cycle of conspiracy, blame game, allegations, has come to an end and that his bluff has been called. He is so desperate that he is asking this to his own people," Ilmi said.

Kejriwal on 27 April held a meeting with the 48 elected corporators from his party in Delhi's three municipal corporations, wherein he asked them not to ditch the 'pure' party.

He called upon the members present to take an oath, which goes as follow, "Keeping my god as he witness, I take oath that I will never betray my pure party or our movement."

Kejriwal spelled out dos and don'ts for the corporators and asked them to be vigilant and brave.

The BJP swept the MCD polls to Delhi's three municipal corporations, North, East and South winning 181 seats out of 270 seats.

The AAP with 48 seats finished second, Congress with 29 seats third.


- - With ANI inputs

First published: 28 April 2017, 9:30 IST