Home » national news » 9-member committee probing Bhagwant Mann's video row to submit report today

9-member committee probing Bhagwant Mann's video row to submit report today

News Agencies | Updated on: 11 February 2017, 7:53 IST

The Lok Sabha nine-member committee probing Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) member Bhagwant Mann live-streaming Parliament's security details, is expected to submit its report on 3 August.

Bhagwant Mann was suspended from the Lok Sabha on 25 July in view of his live-stream video that was shared on social media, where the Parliament's security arrangements were revealed. The security breach invited attacks from MPs across party lines.

In the video, which went viral, Mann was seen showing the entry gate through which MPs enter Parliament House and commenting on the strong security.

Other than determining the extent of threat posed by Mann's video, the nine-member committee was also assigned the task of inquiring into security implications and suggest remedial measures to combat the recurrence of such events.

Headed by BJP's Kirit Somaiya, the committee comprises Meenakshi Lekhi, Satyapal Singh, Anandrao Adsul, Bhartruhari Mahtab, Ratna De, Thota Narasimham, KC Venugopal and P Venugopal.

Adding to Mann's woes, Shiromani Akali Dal's Prem Singh Chandumajra, Bharatiya Janata Party's Maheish Girri and suspended AAP MP Harinder Singh Khalsa yesterday wrote to Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, urging her to send Mann to rehab at the Lok Sabha's expense.

The MPs urged the Speaker to ensure that Mann is allowed to take part in Lok Sabha proceedings only after completing rehab.

Mann is currently not attending the Monsoon Session after he came under fire for the Parliament security breach incident.


First published: 3 August 2016, 10:55 IST