Home » Education News » DU elections results 2016: NSUI bags 33 college panels, ABVP gets just 11

DU elections results 2016: NSUI bags 33 college panels, ABVP gets just 11

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 10 February 2017, 1:47 IST

The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) bagged three crucial positions in the DU elections results announced on 10 September. On the other hand, the National Students' Union of India (NSUI) managed to clinch 33 college panel positions out of 44.

The ABVP captured just 11 of the college panel positions.

The results of DU 2016 elections were declared on the morning of 10 September. The ABVP, the student wing of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), swept up three crucial positions in the DUSU polls:

Also Read: ABVP bags 3 crucial positions in DUSU election results, NSUI gets 1

Amit Tanwar as the President, Priyanka Chabri as Vice-President, Ankit Singh Sangwan as Secretary.

Congress' NSUI made a comeback after two years, after Mohit Garid won the Joint Secretary's post in the results.

The win prevented a hat-trick by the ABVP - who bagged all four seats in the DUSU polls in 2015 and 2014. According to reports, AAP's Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti, which was defeated last year in its debut, did not contest the polls this year.

With 16,357 votes, Amit Tanwar defeated the nearest NSUI candidate Nikhil Yadav with a margin of 4,680 votes. Priyanka Chabri obtained 15,592 votes to defeat her closest rival by a margin of 2,455 votes. Ankit Singh Sangwan received 15,518 votes to win by a margin of 1,383 votes.

Mohit Garid bagged a total of 16,526 votes, defeating the nearest by 2466 votes.

The DUSU 2016 polls were held in two phases on 9 September. A total of 17 candidates participated in the elections - seven candidates contested for the position of President, four for Vice-President. The voter turnout stood a little above 36%.

-With inputs from Nishant Saxena and PTI

First published: 10 September 2016, 4:27 IST