Home » cricket news » Virat Kohli set for 200th ODI as India take on New Zealand in Mumbai

Virat Kohli set for 200th ODI as India take on New Zealand in Mumbai

News Agencies | Updated on: 22 October 2017, 12:48 IST
Virat Kohli set for 200th ODI as India take on New Zealand in Mumbai

Riding high on confidence following their recent 4-1 win over world champions Australia, India will look to continue their winning momentum at home turf when they take on New Zealand in the first ODI of the three-match series, beginning at the Wankhede Stadium here later today.

The Men in Blue, who have been performing exceedingly well at home, will be raring to give a fitting tribute to skipper Virat Kohli, who is all set to play his 200th ODI.

As far as the squad is concerned, Shikhar Dhawan, Dinesh Karthik and Shardul Thakur returned for the three-match series against New Zealand, while there was still no room for Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja in the Indian 50-over side.

For New Zealand, spinner Ish Sodhi, who was originally only named in the T20I squad, had replaced injured Todd Astle in the ODI side.

India, who are currently standing second in the ODI rankings, can regain the top ODI spot from South Africa if they win the series against New Zealand by 3-0.

The second ODI will take place in Pune on Wednesday, with the third to be held in Kanpur on October 29.

The two sides will then play three T20I matches. New Zealand are currently ranked fifth in the world.

Following a home series against New Zealand and Sri Lanka, the Kohli-led team will embark on a tour of South Africa, comprising of three Tests, six ODIs and three T20I in January next year.

India ODI Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur

New Zealand ODI squad: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult, Todd Astle, Matt Henry, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, George Worker, Henry Nicholls.


First published: 22 October 2017, 12:48 IST