Home » cricket news » 'Uncapped' Mavuta, Murray in Zimbabwe squad for Bangladesh tri-series

'Uncapped' Mavuta, Murray in Zimbabwe squad for Bangladesh tri-series

News Agencies | Updated on: 8 January 2018, 17:29 IST

The uncapped pair of all-rounder Brandon Mavuta and wicketkeeper-batsman Ryan Murray has been included in the 15-member Zimbabwe squad for this month's ODI tri-series in Bangladesh.

The tri-series, which will also feature Sri Lanka, will begin on January 15 and run until January 27.

Despite Zimbabwe recently winning their first ODI series against Sri Lanka in July, seven members of that squad have not been named for the upcoming tri-series.

Besides the two former Zimbabwe Under-19 players, Blessing Muzarabani is also in line to make his ODI debut after being named in the squad, ESPNcricinfo reported.

Muzarabani made his international debut for Zimbabwe during the pink-ball Test match against South Africa on the Boxing Day, when he finished wicket less in his 13 overs.

The Graeme Cremer-led side, which will bank on the experience of Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor, Sikandar Raza, Craig Ervine, Christopher Mpofu and Kyle Jarvis, are due to leave for Bangladesh on Tuesday.

The Zimbabwe squad is as follows:

Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor, Sikandar Raza, Peter Moor, Malcolm Waller, Graeme Cremer (capt), Ryan Murray (wk), Tendai Chisoro, Brandon Mavuta, Blessing Muzarabani, Christopher Mpofu, Tendai Chatara, Kyle Jarvis.


First published: 8 January 2018, 17:29 IST