Home » cricket news » Smriti Mandhana nominated for Indian sports honour award organised by Virat Kohli foundation

Smriti Mandhana nominated for Indian sports honour award organised by Virat Kohli foundation

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 3 November 2017, 17:57 IST

Smriti Mandhana the 'run machine' of Indian cricket created a buzz in the media when she hit back to back centuries in the opening match of Woman's world-cup 2017 against England and West Indies. Twitterati had flooded the micro-blogging site with the praises for Smriti Mandhana.

Not only that, but she was even announced the national crush of India. Reportedly the former national crush was Disha Patani, so Twitterati had asked her to move over because Miss Mandhana had taken her place.

While talking about her performance and her title 'national crush' given by Twitterati the explosive Indian opener had confessed that she like it more when people talk about her game rather than her looks.

Now India's female cricket team opener Smriti Mandhana had once again had come into limelight because she has been nominated for the emerging Sportswoman of the year alongside Aditi Ashok (golf) and Ritu Phogat (wrestling) for Indian Sports Honours organised by Virat Kohli foundation.

The Indian sports honour award is organized by RP-SG group in partnership with Virat Kohli foundation. The winner of the different award will be announced at a ceremony that would be held in Mumbai on 11 November.

In 'Indian sports honour award', there are eight categories including sportsman of the year in which famous cricketer's like Cheteshwar Pujara, R Ashwin and Hardik Pandya have been nominated. Other than them Kabbadi player Pardeep Narwal, hockey star Rupinder Pal Singh and Indian football team skipper Sunil Chhetri has also been nominated.

And in the sportswoman of the year section, the name of finalists includes Olympic silver medalist PV Sindhu and bronze medalist Sakshi Malik along with gymnast Dipa Karmakar, athlete Lalita Babar and tennis ace Sania Mirza is also nominated in the same section.

In the team event category, the list includes Indian junior hockey team, the senior cricket, hockey and kabaddi teams along with women's cricket and hockey teams.

First published: 3 November 2017, 17:57 IST