Home » cricket news » Ranji Trophy: Delhi in hunt for quarters after draw against Karnataka

Ranji Trophy: Delhi in hunt for quarters after draw against Karnataka

News Agencies | Updated on: 26 November 2015, 19:45 IST

Delhi's Nitish Rana and Dhruv Shorey hit patient centuries as the visitors managed a point against defending champions Karnataka thereby having a slender outside chance of qualifying for the knock-out rounds of the Ranji Trophy.

Delhi thus ended their group league engagements with 25 points from eight games. While after this round, the league table will show them at the top of group A points table but Bengal, Assam both on 25 points will be pitted against each other in the final round while Karnataka with 24 points also have a match to go against Maharashtra.

Not far away is Vidarbha on 22 points and they will be playing bottom-placed Haryana in last league game.

Even if Bengal versus Assam match does not yield an outright result, both teams will surpass Delhi on points. Delhi will have to pray that at least one team wins outright.

If Karnataka manage at least a point and keep their NRR (Net Run Rate) above Delhi, they will also be through. So Delhi will need Maharashtra to beat Karnataka outright. Not to forget Vidarbha, if they can post an outright win against Haryana. Delhi will be praying that Haryana at least get a first innings lead and if not at least get a point and keep Vidarbha's NRR under check.

Therefore Delhi for all practical purposes is out of the race for the knock-out rounds.

Asked to follow-on after being bowled out for 301 in their first innings in reply to Karnataka's 542, Delhi scored 290 for two in their second innings.

The talented Shorey scored 107 off 227 balls with 14 boundaries while left-hander Rana hit 132 off 175 balls with 19 boundaries and two sixes. This was Shorey's second hundred in only fourth class game while Rana struck his maiden hundred.

Brief Scores: Karnataka 1st innings 542. Delhi 301 & (f/0) 290/2 (Dhruv Shorey 107 no, Nitish Rana 132 no). Points: Karnataka 3; Delhi 1.


First published: 26 November 2015, 19:45 IST