Home » cricket news » MS Dhoni and T20 specialist Raina scripted unique record in India's T20I history

MS Dhoni and T20 specialist Raina scripted unique record in India's T20I history

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 28 June 2018, 15:20 IST

Dhoni and Raina scripted their names in the history of Indian cricket. Former Indian skipper MS Dhoni and T20 specialist Suresh Raina beacme first Indian to feature in the 100th T20 international match.

MS Dhoni and Raina featured in India's maiden T20I match against South Africa on December 1, 2006

The superb opening partnership of 160 between Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan laid the platform for a hefty total 208/5 before their wrist-spinners Chahal and Kuldeep cleared the way for India to registered 76 winning runs at Malahide in Dublin.

India won the first T20 international match against Ireland after putting the hefty score on the board. before their wrist-spinners confirmed the result by 76 runs at Malahide in Dublin.

Despite James Shannon's half century, the wrist spinner's of India Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav thrashed Ireland's batting line-up. Kuldeep has also attained his best T20I bowling figures of 4/21 in this game.

Ireland openers Paul Stirling and Andrew Balbirnie failed to give a terrific start chase a hefty target of 209 set by the Virat Kohli's men.

Indian star batsman Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma have given a brilliant start to India. The right hand and left-hand combination quite made tricky for the Ireland bowlers to break the heft partnership between them. Ireland won the toss and opt to bowl first. Dhawan, Raina and MS Dhoni departs. India crosses 200 benchmarks.

This is India's first T20I assignment since the Nidahas Trophy in March, and the squad doesn't have any major surprises.

Indian Squad:

Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Ireland Squad:

Gary Wilson (c), Paul Stirling, James Shannon, Andrew Balbirnie, Simi Singh, Stuart Poynter (wk), Kevin O Brien, Stuart Thompson, George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin, Peter Chase

Also Read: India Vs Ireland, T20 Series: You will be shocked to know what this Indian cricketer has done in the 100th T20I match

First published: 28 June 2018, 15:11 IST