Home » cricket news » IPL 2018: RCB skipper Virat Kohli optimistic about winning the IPL trophy for the first time

IPL 2018: RCB skipper Virat Kohli optimistic about winning the IPL trophy for the first time

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 5 April 2018, 13:12 IST

The eleventh edition of the Indian Premier League is to start in two days and the excitement around the cricket carnival is at its epitome. The IPL teams along with the players are all ready to come up with the best of their performances.

Every season is a new one in the Indian Premier League but the past does reflect on the mindset and the performance you put up the next year. Among the 10 teams that participated in the IPL last year, RCB finished eighth. The performance was not at all up to the mark. Virat Kohli, now the captain of the Indian team led the Royal Challengers Banglore last season and he will be leading the team again.

However, Kohli looks truly determined to lift the cup this season for his team. RCB have managed to reach the IPL Finals thrice but could not convert it into a final victory.



"More than the fans I want to win the cup. I have been with Bangalore for last 10 years and we haven't crossed the final hurdle three times. I can assure you, my commitment is going to be 120 per percent to try and achieve the goal this time," Virat Said.

RCB has been short on their batting front, however, this season the team looks confident about its batting attack, the team is also equipped with a good bowling line-up.


Virat KOhli

RCB has a solid spin department that has players including Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, M Ashwin, Pawan Negi and England all-rounder Moeen Ali. There are plenty of pace options too in the presence of Umesh Yadav, England all-rounder Chris Woakes, Delhi's Navdeep Saini, Mohammad Siraj and New Zealander Tim Southee.

"Some of them I know personally. We picked up players who could contribute to our culture and not be so worried about their personal performances," Virat Said about the new players joining the team.


First published: 5 April 2018, 13:12 IST