Home » cricket news » India Vs Ireland, T20 Series: Virat Kohli on the verge of breaking another milestone

India Vs Ireland, T20 Series: Virat Kohli on the verge of breaking another milestone

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 27 June 2018, 13:50 IST
(The Indian Express)

Virat Kohli-led Indian cricket team are all set to begin their long UK tour when they lock horns with Ireland in the first T20I of the two-match series in Malahide's Village, Dublin.

Virat Kohli needs 17 more runs to complete 2000 runs in men's t20 format, second Indian after Mithali Raj to achieve this milestone in overall T20 cricket.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli currently register the fourth spot in the list of highest run scorer's in T20I cricket. If he manage to score 17 or more runs in Malahide's Village he will become the fastest to reach the milestone in men's cricket.

Indian run-machine Kohli is just behind the New Zealand duo of Martin Guptill (2271 runs) from 68 games and Brendon McCullum (2140) from 66 games and Pakistan former skipper Shoaib Malik (1989).

Virat Kohli is yet to hit a century in the limited over format.

This is India's first T20I assignment since the Nidahas Trophy in March, and the squad doesn't have any major surprises.

There is a tough competition at no 4 slot where KL Rahul, Manish Pandey and Suresh Raina will put every possible efforts to seal the slot by their performance.

Team India will play two day T20 international series against Ireland on June 27 and June 29 before they play a limited-overs series and Tests game against England.

India will play three T20Is games against England. They will then play three ODIs before the commencement of the high-profile five-match Test series.

Ireland Squad:

Paul Stirling, William Porterfield, Andy Balbirnie, Simi Singh, Gary Wilson (capt), Kevin O'Brien, Stuart Thompson, Stuart Poynter (wk), George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin, Joshua Little

Indian Squad:

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (capt), Suresh Raina/KL Rahul/Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal/Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

Also Read: India Vs Ireland, T20 Series, Statistical Preview: Suresh Raina, KL Rahul and Manish Pandey who is going to fill the no 4 slot?


First published: 27 June 2018, 13:50 IST