Home » cricket news » India Vs England, 2nd Test: Sachin Tendulkar, Ranveer Singh and Kabir Khan in one frame at Lord's cricket ground

India Vs England, 2nd Test: Sachin Tendulkar, Ranveer Singh and Kabir Khan in one frame at Lord's cricket ground

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 10 August 2018, 13:46 IST

The first day of second Test match between India and England was called off with rain without even a ball being bowled at Lord's.

Indian batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar was set to ring the bell  ahead of the second Test at Lord's but his plans were put on hold due to rain. It is a recent tradition introduced in 2007.

The former skipper Sunil Gavaskar, The Nawab of Pataudi Jr, Dilip Vengsarkar, Rahul Dravid, Kapil Dev and Sourav Ganguly are the other  former Indian internationals to ring the bell at a Lord’s Test.

Sachin Tendulkar’s first Test match against England came at Lord’s in year 1990 and he was made an Honorary Life Member of Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) in 2010.

Sachin Tendulkar took twitter and wrote "Was all set to ring the bell at Lord's to start off the 2nd Test today, but unfortunately the weather had other plans. Hopefully, we'll get to see some good cricket over the next 4 days."

Sachin Tendulkar was also spotted with Bollywood director Kabir Khan and actor Ranveer Singh.

Kabir Khan posted a picture on his official instagram account with Sachin and Ranveer that read, “Sachin was 9 years old when he saw on television Kapil’s Devils win the World Cup in 1983 right here at this ground".

"That win inspired him to want to play for India. 35 years later we kick off the prep for our film 83 at the Lords… Can’t get better than this can it? @ranveersingh @sachintendulkar #indiaenglandseries #lords #filmprep.”


On May 17 2001, Test play was washed out completely at Lord's came 17 years ago when the scheduled opening day of the first Test against Pakistan was washed out due to rain.

Virat Kohli's brigade are trailing 0-1 in the five-match series after losing at Edgbaston by 31 runs.


Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Rishabh Pant, Karun Nair, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah.


Joe Root (capt), Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Oliver Pope, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Jamie Porter, Sam Curran, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Chris Woakes.

Also Read: IND v ENG: Kapil Dev and Sunil Gavaskar got the chance but why Tendulkar return without ringing Lord's bell will surprise you!

First published: 10 August 2018, 13:46 IST