Home » cricket news » India vs Australia, first T20I: Virat Kohli win toss, elect to bowl in Ranchi

India vs Australia, first T20I: Virat Kohli win toss, elect to bowl in Ranchi

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 7 October 2017, 18:55 IST
India vs Australia, first T20I

Virat Kohli-led team India have won the toss and elected to field first in the opening T20I of the three-match series at the JSCA Interantional Stadium in Ranchi

Coming on the back of a comfortable five-match ODI series win, India will aim to extend their dominance over Australia when the two sides head into the opening T20I of the three-match series here today.

India, who clinched the ODI series against Australia 4-1 to reclaim the number one spot in the ICC rankings, will be riding high on confidence and will aim for a perfect finish to the campaign with the T20I series.

Australia, on the other hand, will look to get back to the winning rhythm with the Ashes coming up in a month's time.

The Virat Kohli-led side will be boosted by the return of veteran pacer Ashish Nehra, batsman Dinesh Karthik and opener Shikhar Dhawan in the T20 squad.

Dhawan missed the ODI series to attend his ailing wife, while KL Rahul's inclusion at the expense of an in-form Ajinkya Rahane will also add to the stiff competition in the top order.

Meanwhile, the visitors will hope for a better performance from their middle order, including the likes of Glenn Maxwell and Travis Head, who failed to click as a unit during the recently-concluded ODI series.


Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah


Playing XI: David Warner (c), Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Daniel Christian, Tim Paine(wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff

First published: 7 October 2017, 18:55 IST