Home » cricket news » India vs Australia, 2nd T20: Australia win toss, elect to field first

India vs Australia, 2nd T20: Australia win toss, elect to field first

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 10 October 2017, 18:54 IST
India vs Australia, 2nd T20: Australia win toss, elect to field first

David Warner-led Australian team have won the toss and has elected to field first in the 2nd T20 match of the three-match series at Guwahati on 10 October.

The first T20 win of team India over Australia was seven consecutive win for men-in-blue against Kangaroo team. Currently, Virat Kohli led India is at the 5th spot in the ICC T20 ranking, but if they will win the second T20, then they will come to a step closer to claiming the second spot. If Virat Kohli's squad will manage to whitewash Aussie team in the series, India will claim the second spot in ICC T20 ranking.

In the second T20 match, Virat Kohli's boys will need to repeat the performance of the first match. India's batting side is dominated by opener Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan and Indian skipper Virat Kohli. In the middle order, there are key players like MS Dhoni and Hardik Pandya who can change the direction of the match at any time. Then there are players like Manish Pandey and Kedar Jadhav that shows the depth in Indian batting lineup.

Indian pacer Bhuneswar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah are set to play in this match and there are high chances that Aashish Nehra could make it in playing eleven. In last match, spinner Kuldeep Yadav's performance was remarkable once again. He along with Yuzvendra Chahal would be expected to repeat the history.

On the other side, Aussie team led by the explosive opener, David Warner would need to reconsider their strategy, as whatever they had planned it does not seems to be working. In the second T20 match, Kangaroo team will fight for remaining in the series. Since their explosive batter, Glan Maxwell is out of form and Steve Smith had returned home, the openers Warner and Aaron Finch will be expected to lead their team towards the win.

Earlier, India won the 5 match One Day International series against by 4-1 and reclaimed top spot in ODI ranking. On the other hand, Australia will try to get back into the winning rhythm with the Ashes coming up in a few months.

The two squads are as follows:

India T20 squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Axar Patel.

Australia T20 squad: Steve Smith (Captain), David Warner (vice-captain), Jason Behrendorff, Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine (WK), Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

First published: 10 October 2017, 18:54 IST