Home » cricket news » India vs Australia, 1st ODI: Virat Kohli wins toss, elect to bat first at Chennai

India vs Australia, 1st ODI: Virat Kohli wins toss, elect to bat first at Chennai

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 17 September 2017, 17:25 IST
India vs Australia, 1st ODI

Virat Kohli-led team India have won the toss and elected to bat first against Australia in the opening ODI of the five-match series at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on 17th September.

As far as Playing XI is concerned, KL Rahul has been left out to give Manish Pandey a go at number four spot while Ajinkya Rahane will open the batting for India in Shikhar Dhawan's absence.

For Australia, Hilton Cartwright will make his ODI?debut while Kane Richardson, Ashton Agar, Peter Handscomb and Aaron Finch have all been left out from the XI.

The visitors are also without their two top pacers -- Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood.

Going into the match, India will aim for another comprehensive show against a depleted Australia side after decimating Sri Lanka at their home turf.

India's home advantage will relatively reduce in the limited-overs versions, which promises another stiff contest between the sides.

The Virat Kohli-led side, however, will still start as the favourite. It will go into a stretch of limited-overs cricket at home having swept Sri Lanka across formats recently, and the team is gradually becoming a ruthless unit with players for every condition and situation.

That's evident from India's tremendous success in ODIs over the last two years; the last time India lost a bilateral ODI series was in early 2016 when it was beaten 4-1 by Australia Down Under.

Australia, on the other hand, have returned to India for the first time since their fiery and controversial Border-Gavaskar series earlier this year, which India won 2-1 and which ended with Kohli declaring some of his friendships with the Australian players had been irreparably damaged.

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli(c), Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni(w), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah.

Australia Playing XI: David Warner, Hilton Cartwright, Steven Smith(c), Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade(w), James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa.

-With ANI inputs.

First published: 17 September 2017, 13:12 IST