Home » cricket news » India strikes Pakistan in Manchester, keep their World Cup record intact

India strikes Pakistan in Manchester, keep their World Cup record intact

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 17 June 2019, 0:01 IST

Team India won their seventh encounter against Pakistan in World Cup by 89 runs (DLS) and Virat Kohli’s boys put everything to keep the World Cup record intact. India has never lost against Pakistan in a World Cup match and Virat Kohli-led team continued the tradition.

Virat Kohli lost the toss against Pakistan and was asked to bat first. Indian top order set the stage with 136 run partnership. KL Rahul was dismissed for 57 runs by Wahab Riaz while Rohit Sharma went on to make 140 off 113 balls. Rohit Sharma scored his 24th ODI century and his second in World Cup 2019. Indian skipper Virat Kohli scored 77 off 65 balls before he got out off Mohammad Amir’s ball.

Kohli’s dismissal was controversial as he walked off without the umpire giving an out. The ultra edge showed that there was no noise when the ball passed the bat. Hardik Pandya was not looking good with the bat but he contributed 26 runs before getting out.

Rain disrupted the game in 47th over but India at the end posted 336 runs on board with five wickets in hand. Pakistan came in to bat and lost Imam-ul-Haq in the 5th over when Vijay Shankar came in to complete Bhuveneshwar Kumar’s over. Bhuveneshwar Kumar suffered a hamstring and was ruled out of the match.

Pakistan then made a crucial partnership before Kuldeep Yadav dismissed Babar Azam for 48. Kuldeep then dismissed Fakhar Zaman to bring in two new batsmen. Hardik Pandya took two back to back wickets as he dismissed Hafeez and Shoaib Malik. Vijay Shankar dismissed Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed for just 12 runs.

Rain disrupted the game again in the 36th over while Shadab Khan and Imad Wasim were on the field. Pakistan was 86 runs behind the par score when rain interrupted the match.

Also read: Big blow to India during Pakistan clash, Bhuveneshwar Kumar injured and ruled out

First published: 17 June 2019, 0:01 IST