Home » cricket news » Ind vs Pak, Champions Trophy 2017: Pakistan win toss, elect to field first

Ind vs Pak, Champions Trophy 2017: Pakistan win toss, elect to field first

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 4 June 2017, 15:39 IST
Ind vs Pak, Champions Trophy 2017

Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and have chosen to bowl against India in much anticipated India-Pakistan Champions Trophy clash at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground, Birmingham.

After winning the toss, Sarfraz Ahmed admitted that although there is always an added pressure in India-Pakistan match, they are looking forward to play a free game.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli, on the other hand, insisted that today's game was no different, while adding they would try to put up a complete performance in order to emerge victorious.

"It is a pretty good wicket, it will stay even. We need a complete performance to win a game of cricket, today is going to be no different. The preparations are like usual," he added.

As far as Playing XI is concerned, India are going into the match with five bowlers namely Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuveshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja. Mohammad Shami and Ravichandran Ashwin have been left out for the match.

Meanwhile, Shadab Khan has been named in the Pakistan's starting XI as a replacement for Faheem Ashraf.

While the Men in Blue would go into the match as clear favourites, courtesy their stupendous record in the ICC events against Pakistan, they cannot afford to be complacent considering their history against the arch-rivals when it comes to Champions Trophy.

Pakistan hold a 2-1 lead over their fierce rivals and neighbours in the Champions Trophy, it is India who have won 10 out of the 11 contests at the World Cup and World T20 tournaments between the two sides.

India are also the defending champions in the tournament having won the last Champions Trophy in 2013. They will head into the eight-team marquee event after a hugely successful home season with 10 Test wins.


Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah


Playing XI: Azhar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk/captain), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali.

-With ANI inputs

First published: 4 June 2017, 14:54 IST