Home » cricket news » IND vs AUS: Australia beat India by 4 runs in a last over thriller played in Brisbane

IND vs AUS: Australia beat India by 4 runs in a last over thriller played in Brisbane

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 21 November 2018, 18:13 IST

Australia defeated India in the first T20 international at Brisbane by 4 runs on Wednesday in a last-over thriller match.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bowl first, Australia suffered an early setback but climbed back with Glenn Maxwell taking the charge from the front contributing valuable 46 runs after Chris Lynn departed making 37 runs.

Rain intervened when Australia's inning was in the 16.1 overs after which the match was reduced to 17-overs a side.

Australia made 158/4 in their 17 overs and the target for India was revised to 174 runs in DLS method.

India start was also marred by an early setback as Rohit Sharma departed scoring just 7 runs, Lokesh Rahul was sent on number three but he could not make much of the opportunity, giving away his wicket by getting stumped by Carey on 13 runs.

Shikhar Dhawan took the matter in his hands and went on to score a much-valuable half-century. The left-hander looked set for a big score but could not find a partner to take India on the path to recovery.

India skipper Virat Kohli too disappointed with the bat today, losing his wicket on just 4 runs. Dhawan soon followed Kohli to the pavilion.

India looked in trouble but just then Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik gave some ray of hope.

The duo soon got into action and started adding runs from boundaries and running between the wickets.

India needed just over 20 runs when Rishabh Pant threw away his wicket off Tye's loose delivery and then Krunal Pandya too couldn't stand up to the occasion.

Karthik still showed some fight and blasted some runs here and there but there was no help from the other end.

India needed just over 10 runs in the last over but Krunal Pandya departed first and Karthik too followed him within two balls, by then the result was clear and Bhuvneshwar and Kuldeep just had to do the formality, A boundary did come on the last ball but India had lost the match as the ball crossed the boundary line.

First published: 21 November 2018, 18:13 IST