Home » cricket news » Champions Trophy: Sri Lanka win toss, put India to bat

Champions Trophy: Sri Lanka win toss, put India to bat

News Agencies | Updated on: 8 June 2017, 14:49 IST

Sri Lanka won the toss and have chosen to field in their crucial must win encounter against India in the ongoing Champions Trophy here at the Oval, London on 8 June.

The Men in Blue have gone with the same team that played against Pakistan in their opening encounter while Sri Lanka have made three changes in their line-up.

Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera and Gunathilaka Danushka come in while Upul Tharanga, Chamara Kapugedera and Sekkuge Prasanna have been left out of the Playing XI.

The Virat Kohli-led side had a dream start to their eight-team marquee event, when they thrashed Pakistan by 124 runs in a rain-hit opening clash at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground on Sunday.

Lanka, on the other hand, slumped to a 96-run defeat at the hands of top-ranked ODI team South Africa in their first group encounter at the Oval.

While a win here would ensure India a semi-final spot, the Angelo Mathews-led side finds itself in a do-or-die situation. They need to clinch victory to keep their hopes in the tournament alive.

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Niroshan Dickwella(w), Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews(c), Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera, Asela Gunaratne, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Pradeep

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni(w), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.


First published: 8 June 2017, 14:49 IST