Home » cricket news » BCCI announces Virat Kohli-led Indian team for Champions Trophy 2017

BCCI announces Virat Kohli-led Indian team for Champions Trophy 2017

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 8 May 2017, 13:58 IST

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on 8 May announced Indian squad for the upcoming Champions Trophy in England after putting aside the ongoing tussle between the Indian board and the cricket governing body.

The announcement came after a delay of more than two weeks after missing the April 25 deadline set by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to name the team.

Shikhar Dhawan, who won the Player of the Tournament award in the 2013 Champions Trophy, has retained his place in the team. Dhawan's opening partner is going to be Rohit Sharma.

Pacer Mohammed Shami has made a comeback in the team after playing his last ODI in March 2015. Other pacers in the team are Umesh Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah.

After making a successful comeback in the ODI against England, star all-rounder Yuvraj Singh has also been selected for the tournament.
Team: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, M Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Manish Pandey.

ANI reported that selectors have also put five players -- Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik -- on stand-by for the tournament.

First published: 8 May 2017, 12:25 IST