Home » Assembly Elections 2017 » Assembly polls: Congress leading in 13 seats in Punjab

Assembly polls: Congress leading in 13 seats in Punjab

News Agencies | Updated on: 11 March 2017, 9:42 IST

The Congress was leading in 13 seats in the 117-member Punjab Assembly, followed by the ruling SAD and the AAP in four seats each, as per early trends.

SAD ally BJP, which contested 23 seats, was leading in one seat, as per early trends.

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal was leading from his pocket borough Lambi assembly constituency. Badal was leading over his nearest Congress rival Capt Amarinder Singh as per early trends available.

Capt Singh, who is also fighting from his traditional stronghold Patiala, was leading in that seat.

Congress was ahead in Amritsar Central, Tarn Taran, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar West (R), Chabbewal (R), Anandpur Sahib, Fatehgarh Sahib, Dharamkot, Baluana (Reserve), Gidderbaha, Faridkot, Rajpura and Patiala seats while Shiromani Akali Dal was ahead in Lambi, Bhagapurana, Moga and Majitha seats, as per early trends.

BJP was ahead in Abohar segment.

AAP was ahead in Bathinda Urban, Mansa, Bhadaur (R) and Mehal Kalan (R) seats.

From Gidderbaha, All-India Youth Congress President Amarinder Singh Raja Warring was leading. From Majitha seat, SAD's Bikram Singh Majithia was leading.

Congress' Manpreet Badal was trailing AAP candidate Deepak Bansal from Bathinda Urban as per initial trends.


First published: 11 March 2017, 9:42 IST