Home » Sports » PV Sindhu creates history, becomes 1st Indian to win World Tour Finals title

PV Sindhu creates history, becomes 1st Indian to win World Tour Finals title

News Agencies | Updated on: 16 December 2018, 15:41 IST
P.V Sindhu

Ace Indian shuttler PV Sindhu was showered with wishes from different corners of the country after she clinched her maiden World Tour Finals championship.

Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu congratulated the local girl on his Twitter handle for being the first Indian to win the prestigious title. "Congratulations to @Pvsindhu1 for making history and becoming the first Indian to win the BWF World Tour Finals held at Guangzhou, China. You have made the nation proud. #BWFWorldTourFinals," he wrote.

Bollywood actress Taapsee Pannu, who has bought the Pune team in the Badminton Premier League, also congratulated the shuttler and requested her to be kind to her team.

"Sindhuuuuuuuu! You Rockstar !!!!! Congratulations !!!! So proud of you! @Pvsindhu1 Be kind to my team," Pannu tweeted.

Megastar Amitabh Bachchan also extended his wishes to the Rio Olympics silver-medallist on his official Twitter handle. "T 3028 - YEEEAAAH !!! PV SINDHU World Champion at Badminton Championship in China .. so so proud of you .. well done PV .. you have fought your way back to the top .. never gave up .. never ever DO .. !!MADE INDIA IMMENSELY PROUD," Big B wrote.

From cricket fraternity, Master blaster Sachin Tendulkar and smashing opener Virendra Sehwag congratulated Sindhu for her achievement.

"Many congratulations, @Pvsindhu1 for winning your maiden title at the BWF World Tour Finals. Wishing you all the best for the future. #BWFWorldTourFinals2018," Tendulkar tweeted.

"An amazing way to end the season for @Pvsindhu1 beating Okuhara in the World Tour final in straight sets. #BWFWorldTourFinals," Sehwag tweeted.

Sindhu had thrashed Japan's Nozomi Okuhara 21-19, 21-17 to become the first ever Indian to win the World Tour Finals championship.


First published: 16 December 2018, 15:41 IST