Home » Sports » ICC Champions Trophy 2017 preview: England vs Bangladesh

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 preview: England vs Bangladesh

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 1 June 2017, 13:12 IST
Representational Image

The Champions Trophy is all set to begin on 1 June hosts England will take on Bangladesh in the opener at the Oval.

Going into the match, Bangladesh would be brimming with confidence as they have won four of their last seven ODI games versus England.

Bangladesh is making a comeback in the Champions Trophy after more than 10 years as it last played in the event in 2006.

Bangladesh have won back-to-back ODI games (Ireland and New Zealand) ahead of this encounter with England; if they claim victory in this match, it'll be the first time they've won three in a row outside of Bangladesh since 2009 (five in succession).

England, on the other hand, has shown tremendous improvement. If England's recent records are talked about, the team has won 10 out of 12 matches that they played last.

England and Bangladesh have got proven set of skills but notably both the teams couldn't fair that well in the last match that they played ahead of the tournament.

England suffered a humiliating collapse as they were 20 for 6 against South Africa in the last match of three-match series, while Bangladesh were 22 for 6 against India in the warm-up game.

Bangladesh managed to score 84 runs while chasing 324-7 posted by defending champions India at the Oval on Tuesday.


Bangladesh: Masrafe Mortaza (Captain), Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Mehedi Hasan Miraj, Mosaddek Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Sanjamul Islam, Sabbir Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarker, Tamim Iqbal and Taskin Ahmed.

England: Eoin Morgan (Captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes and Mark Wood.

- - With ANI inputs

First published: 1 June 2017, 12:54 IST