Home » World News » By-Election on Nawaz's seat in Pakistan on 17 September

By-Election on Nawaz's seat in Pakistan on 17 September

News Agencies | Updated on: 1 August 2017, 16:39 IST

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday announced 17 September as the date for holding election for NA-120 by-polls, which was left vacant after the disqualification of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif by the Supreme Court.

According to ECP, the candidates will be able to submit their nomination papers between  10-12August. The ECP will review nomination papers between 15-17August.

Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif and Dr Yasmeen Rashid who are expected to contest the election on tickets of PML-N and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf, respectively can file their nomination papers between August 10-12, according to the election schedule released by ECP.

The Supreme Court, in its verdict on the Panamagate case, had found Nawaz Sharif "unfit to hold office," following which the PML-N leader stepped down from his post. Shortly after, the ECP also issued a notification disqualifying Nawaz Sharif as a member of the National Assembly. .

Nawaz Sharif ,the former premier had won the election from this constituency in 2013, defeating Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf's candidate Yasmeen Rashid with a margin of around 40,000 votes.


First published: 1 August 2017, 16:39 IST