Home » Regional Cinema » SIIMA Awards : Mohanlal, Nayanthara win for acting, Thalapathy Vijay is entertainer of the year

SIIMA Awards : Mohanlal, Nayanthara win for acting, Thalapathy Vijay is entertainer of the year

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 3 July 2017, 18:26 IST
Pic : Mohanlal in Oppam and Nayanthara in Puthiyaniyamam

The sixth edition of SIIMA 2017 (The South Indian International Movie Awards) was held in Abu Dhabi. While the Telugu and Kannada film awards were distributed on Saturday, Malayalam and Tamil award winners were announced on Sunday. The award night was attended by R Madhavan, Rana Daggubati, Nivin Pauly, Siva Karthikeyan, Nayanthara, Rakul Preet Singh, A R Rahman among others.

Mohanlal won the Best Actor for the third time. This time for his portrayal of a hunter in Pulimurugan. Nayanthara wins the best actress recognition in both Malayalam and Tamil film categories for her respective films Puthiya Niyamam and Iru Mugan. This is her 7th award at the SIIMA. R Madhavan and Nivin Pauly won the critics award honor for best actor in Tamil and Malayalam film respectively.

Thalapathy Vijay won the Entertainer of the year for his performance in Theri.

Here’s the complete list of Malayalam and Tamil film winners of SIIMA 2017.


Best Actor – Mohanlal (Oppam)

Best Actress – Nayanthara (Puthiya Niyamam)

Best Film – Kammattipaadam

Best Director – Vyshak (Pulimurugan)

Best Actor (Critics) – Nivin Pauly

Best Actress (Critics) – Asha Sarath

Best Supporting Actor (Female) – Lakshmi Ramakrishnan (Jacobinte Swargarajyam)

Best Supporting Actor (Male) – Renji Panicker (Jacobinte Swargarajyam)

Best Debutant director – John Paul George (Guppy)

Best Debutante – Rajisha Vijayan (Anuraga Karikkin Vellam)

Best Debutant – Shane Nigam (Kismath)

Best Playback Singer (Male) – Sooraj Santhosh

Best Playback Singer (Female) – KS Chithra



Best Actor – Sivakarthikeyan (Remo)

Best Actress – Nayanthara (Iru Mugan)

Best Entertainer – Theri (Vijay)

Best Film – Irudhi Suttru

Best Actor (Critics) – R Madhavan (Irudhi Suttru)

Best Actress (Critics) –
Varalaxmi Sarathkumar (Tharai Thappattai)

Best Actor In Negative Role – Trisha (Kodi)

Best Supporting Actor (Male) – Prakash Raj

Best Debutant (Male) – Kalidas Jayaram (Meen Kuzhambum Mann Paanaiyum)

Best Debutante – Ritika Singh (Irudhi Suttru)

Best Debutant director –Karthick Naren (Dhuruvangal Pathinaaru)

Best Music Director – AR Rahman

Best Comedian – Yogi Babu

First published: 3 July 2017, 18:26 IST