Home » Regional Cinema » Malayalam Cinema: Premam and Ennu Ninte Moideen win big at Asianet Film Awards

Malayalam Cinema: Premam and Ennu Ninte Moideen win big at Asianet Film Awards

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 14 February 2017, 5:39 IST

The 18th Asianet Film Awards were held to honour the winners of 2015 from the Malayalam film industry on the 7 February 2016, at Adlux International Convention Centre in Angamaly, Kerala. It was a grand night with some of the big names from South Indian movie industry gracing the award show including Mohanlal, Mammootty, Chiyan Vikram and Trisha.

Most of the awards were bagged by Premam and Ennu Ninte Moideen, two blockbuster movies of 2015. Actor Prithviraj Sukumaran and actress Parvathy won the best actor, best actress awards respectively for Ennu Ninte Moideen. Ennu... also bagged the best film award.

Also Read: Malayalam actress Kavya Madhavan celebrates 25 years in the movie industry

Millenium Star Award was earned by Malayalam superstar Mohanlal while the other superstar Mammootty was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Mammootty's son Dulquer Salmaan received the Youth Icon Award. The current hit machine of Malayalam cinema, Nivin Pauly, bagged the Popular actor award.

Also Read: Dileep - Mamta Mohandas's Two Countries crosses 30 crore mark at Kerela Box-Office

18th Asianet Film Awards - 2016 Winners List

  • Best Actor: Prithviraj Sukumaran
  • Best Actress: Parvathy
  • Best Director: Alphonse Puthran
  • Best Film: Ennu Ninte Moideen
  • Millenium Star: Mohanlal
  • Life time achievement : Mammootty
  • Lifetime Achievement: Yesudas
  • Best Supporting Actor: Sai Kumar
  • Best Supporting Actress: Kalpana
  • Best Comedian: Aju Varghese
  • Best Character Actor: Biju Menon
  • Best Character Actress: Lena
  • Popular Tamil Actor: Vikram
  • Popular Tamil Actress: Trisha
  • Best Villain: Nedumudi Venu
  • Popular Malayalam Actor: Nivin Pauly
  • Youth Icon: Dulquer Salmaan
  • Best Debut Actress: Deepti Sati
  • Best Script Writer: RS Vimal
  • Special Jury Award: Vijaya Raghavan & Sai Pallavi
  • Best Cinematography: Jomon T John
  • Best Male Singer: Vijay Yesudas
  • Best Female Singer: Vaikom Vijayalakshmi
  • Best Music Composer: Rajesh Murugesan
  • Best Lyricist: Rafeeq Ahamed
  • Best Editor: Mahesh Narayanan

-- Text By SPN

First published: 13 February 2016, 2:39 IST