Home » Pro Kabaddi League » Here's what Pro Kabaddi League Captains have to say before season starts

Here's what Pro Kabaddi League Captains have to say before season starts

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 20 July 2019, 13:24 IST
Pro Kabaddi League 2019

The Pro Kabaddi League (PKL) is all set to commence its seventh season today. On the eve of the opening match, all the team captains of the PKL came together to put fourth their plan and strategies for the seventh season.

In an event the defending champions Bengaluru Bulls’ skipper Rohit Kumar placed the trophy back in contest for the new season, all 12 captains looked optimistic of their game plans, but at the same time also indicated that non of the teams could be taken lightly.

Talking about the new season, Tamil Thalaivas skipper Ajay Thakur stated that they will prove that they are a much improved side then they were last season as the franchise have brought in Rahul Chaudhary, who is also known as ‘Raid Machine’.

"Rahul and I have been playing together for Team India for some time now and we share a great chemistry. But this is the first time that both of us will be seen together in PKL. I believe it is going to be great for our fans. I have always believed that hard work pays off and we have been working very hard for the success of our team," said Thakur.

"Our team is made up of strong raiders, a formidible defense line and some good coaches. You can call us the strongest team in the competition. Our players are fit and have been practicing continuously for the tournament. We aim to win one match at a time,” said Telugu Titans captain Abozar Mohajermighani.

Fazel Atrachali, U Mumba skipper, said, "We fought hard last season and we will continue to do the same this year as well. This season we also have youngsters with us who have shown great dedication and promise."

Jaipur Pink Panthers skipper Deepak Hooda said: "We have 8 to 9 youngsters in our team this year and the new talent will certainly bring some energy and help the team win matches. We have been practicing very hard and the youngsters have shown the right intent and hard work necessary to play games at this level."

Delhi Dbangg may not have had a great first five seasons, but they proved their worth last and their captain Joginder Narwal said thet they have worked hard and this time their performance would get better.

"Our performance last season was very encouraging, and the team has been training with the same energy and passion for the last one-and-a-half months. Last season, the only place we lacked was our defense and we've worked hard to make sure we don't repeat the same mistakes. Last year, we made it all the way to the semifinal and this year we hope to make it to the final,” Joginder said.

Defending champions Bengaluru Bulls’ captain Rohit Kumar said: "All teams are extremely competitive, but I believe Gujarat Fortunegiants and Tamil Thalaivas are our strongest competitors this season. This year we aim to win maximum number of matches and even if we lose, I will hope to lose with the minimum difference. The 45-day long camp has made us train and practice extremely hard and with that intensity we will prepare for the match against Patna Pirates on Saturday."

Simultaneously, newly designated Puneri Paltans captain Surjeet Singh said:"We have a very good combination of both senior and young players this season which makes us a very strong team as we have the best of the talent. We have practiced on our skills and techniques to make sure we give our best on the mat."

Gujarat Fortune Giants captain Sunil Kumar said: "This season, just like last season, we have got a lot of new young talent which we believe will be our secret weapons. They will not only enthrall and surprise the audience but also our opponents on the mat. We are putting all our efforts to make sure we win the final this time."

Telugu Titans will go face to face with U Mumba in the opening match of the PKL on Saturday, which will be followed by the match between Bengaluru Bulls and Gujarat Fortune Giants at Gachibowli Indoor Stadium in Hyderabad.


First published: 20 July 2019, 13:21 IST