Home » Politics News » In Uttar Pradesh, 2 leaders from Mayawati's BSP join Congress

In Uttar Pradesh, 2 leaders from Mayawati's BSP join Congress

News Agencies | Updated on: 5 March 2019, 9:44 IST

Former Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MP Kaiser Jahan and a former MLA of the same party, Jasmir Ansari, Monday joined the Congress along with their supporters in the presence of UPCC president Raj Babbar in Lucknow, a party spokesperson said.

Kaiser Jahan, former Sitapur MP, and Jasmir Ansari, former Laharpur MLA, expressed their faith in the leadership of party president Rahul Gandhi and the policies of the party, spokesman Brijendra Kumar Singh said.

Welcoming them into the party fold, Raj Babbar said the Congress will form the government at the centre after winning the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

A Congress government at the centre will ensure the rights of the youth, farmers, labourers and traders, and pave the way for establishing an atmosphere in which all could feel safe and secure, he added.

Mr Jahan and Mr Ansari had earlier met AICC in-charge of UP-East Priyanka Gandhi in Delhi and joined the Congress on Monday after quitting the BSP, Mr Singh said.

Retired IPS officer Aftab Ahmed Khan and Chamber of Commerce vice-chairman Surendra Kumar also joined the party, Mr Singh said.

Mayawati-led BSP has forged an alliance with Samajwadi Party in the state for the Lok Sabha elections.


First published: 5 March 2019, 9:44 IST