Home » national news » The politics of Nitish Kumar's swearing-in guest list: who's is in, who's out

The politics of Nitish Kumar's swearing-in guest list: who's is in, who's out

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 13 February 2017, 9:32 IST

Nitish Kumar will be sworn as the Bihar Chief Minister today. Here's who is attending it and who isn't.

Not attending

Akhilesh Yadav
  • Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav will not attend senior Janata Janata Dal (United) leader Nitish Kumar's swearing-in ceremony in Patna today as he has his hands full with the 'Green UP, Clean UP' campaign in Saifai, UP.
Narendra Modi. Sonu Mehta/Getty Images

Photo: Sonu Mehta/Getty Images

  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi will also not be able to attend the ceremony due to 'prior engagements', however, Union Ministers Venkaiah Naidu and Rajiv Pratap Rudy will represent the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led Union Government at the swearing-in today.

File photo

Interestingly, rebel BJP leader Shatrughan Sinha will also not the able to attend his 'good friend's' swearing-in ceremony due to "important personal engagements."

Who is attending?

Rahul Gandhi_PTI

Photo: PTI

  • The ceremony will be attended by Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi, former Prime Minister H.D. Devegowda, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, his National Conference counterpart Farooq Abdullah and Congress leaders in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge and Ghulam Nabi Azad among others.
Mamata Banerjee

File photo

  • West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee also confirmed that she would attend the ceremony.

Nitish was on Saturday elected as the legislature party Leader of the Mahagathbandhan, which comprises of the Janata Dal (United), the Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Congress Party.


First published: 20 November 2015, 10:57 IST