Home » national news » Is your city on the list of 27 new smart cities? Varanasi, Tirupati & Kanpur are!

Is your city on the list of 27 new smart cities? Varanasi, Tirupati & Kanpur are!

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 10 February 2017, 1:46 IST

On 20 September, Union Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu announced the third list of 27 urban centres that will developed into smart cities. Here is a list of the cities from 12 states that made it to the third list:

1. Agra (UP)

2. Ajmer (Rajasthan)

3. Amritsar (Punjab)

4. Aurangabad (Maharasjtra)

5. Gwalior (MP)

6. Hubli-Dharwad (West Bengal)

7. Jalandhar (Punjab)

8. Kalyan-Dombiwali (Maharashtra)

9. Kanpur (UP)

10. Kohima (Nagaland)

11. Kota (Rajasthan)

12. Madurai (Tamil Nadu)

13. Mangaluru (Karnataka)

14. Nagpur (Maharashtra)

15. Namchi (Sikkim)

16. Nashik (Maharashtra)

17. Rourkela (Odisha)

18. Salem ( Tamil Nadu)

19. Shivamogga (Karnataka)

20. Thane (Maharashtra)

21. Thanjavur (Tamil Nadu)

22. Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh)

23. Tumakuru (Karnataka)

24. Ujjain (MP)

25. Vadodara (MP)

26. Varanasi (UP)

27. Vellore (Tamil Nadu)

As per the mission guidelines, as many as 40 cities will be announced during this financial year.

In January, the government announced a list of 20 cities for partial funding to be developed as smart cities which would have facilities such as assured water and power supply, sanitation and solid waste management systems, efficient urban mobility and public transportation, IT connectivity and e-governance, among others.

Each city will receive Central assistance of Rs 200 crore in the first year and Rs 100 crore over the three subsequent financial years.

State governments and respective urban local bodies will also match the Centre's contribution.

--With PTI inputs

First published: 20 September 2016, 5:19 IST