Home » lucknow news » Taking no risks ahead of elections, UP CM Akhilesh Yadav avoids 'jinxed' Noida once again

Taking no risks ahead of elections, UP CM Akhilesh Yadav avoids 'jinxed' Noida once again

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 21 April 2016, 15:19 IST

After having skipped PM Narendra Modi's Noida event in December 2015, Uttar Pradesh CM Akhilesh Yadav has now stayed away from a Greater Noida exhibition - which was inaugurated by President Pranab Mukherjee. Speculations are rife that the CM skipped the function due to the so-called 'Noida jinx'. 

This was for the fifth time when the CM avoided going to Noida. The President was in Greater Noida for the inauguration of the secod edition of Global Exhibition on Services (GES), which aims to promote India's trade in the sector.

While Uttar Pradesh Governor Ram Naik was present at the event, Yadav was absent. His government was represented by a state cabinet minister. 

Previous instances where Akhilesh has avoided visiting Noida

April 2015: The launch event of 'Stand up India', an initiative which was launched by the PM himself.

December 2015: The CM skipped PM Modi's event in which he had laid the foundation of Delhi-Meerut Expressway.

September 2014: World Dental Congress event

What is the Noida jinx?

The Noida jinx stems from the fact that several chief ministers of Uttar Pradesh, including Veer Bahadur Singh, Narayan Dutt Tiwari, Kalyan Singh and Mayawati, lost their chairs soon after visiting Noida.

It is believed that the 'jinx' started in 1988 when former chief minister Veer Bahadur Singh lost power within days of visiting Noida that year. 

In 1989, ND Tiwari lost his CM seat after a visit to Noida.  

In 1995, Mulayam was out of power within months of his Noida visit. In 1997, Mayawati lost power after visiting Noida. 

In 1999, Kalyan Singh suffered the same fate. 

The last one was Mayawati, who lost power in 2012 assembly elections after she flew down to Noida in October 2011 to inaugurate the Dalit Prerna Sthal. 

-With inputs from PTI  

First published: 21 April 2016, 15:19 IST