Home » IPL News » IPL 2019 KKR vs KXIP: Kolkata beat Punjab by 28 runs despite Mayank Agarwal and David Miller's fifty

IPL 2019 KKR vs KXIP: Kolkata beat Punjab by 28 runs despite Mayank Agarwal and David Miller's fifty

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 27 March 2019, 23:43 IST

Kolkata Knight Riders beat Kings XI Punjab by 28 runs despite Mayank Agarwal and David Miller scoring a half-century each.

Earlier, KKR finished at 218-4 in 20 overs after Kings XI Punjab won the toss and chose to bowl first. Along with Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine opened the innings for KKR. Narine was looking in good touch as he scored 24 off 9 balls before Hardus Viljoen took his wicket. Chris Lynn went before Narine as he was dismissed by Mohammed Shami for 10 off 10.

Robin Uthappa and Nitish Rana set the stage for KKR as they made a 60-ball 100 partnership between them. Rana was on fire before he was dismissed by debutant Varun Chakravarthy for 34-ball 63. Robin made his half-century as he scored 50-ball 67. Andre Russell came in demolished Punjab's bowling attack as he hit 17-ball 48 before getting out in the last over by Andrew Tye.

Mohammed Shami bowled Andre Russell out but he got another chance as there were only three fielders inside the 30 yard boundary.

Mohammed Shami, Hardus Viljoen, Andrew Tye and Varun Chakravarthy took one wicket each for Punjab. Part-timer Mandeep Singh went for 18 runs from 1 over and registered the highest economy amongst the lot.

KL Rahul and Chris Gayle came in to bat in the second innings. KL Rahul continued his poor streak of performances in IPL as he went for just 1 run in the first over by Lockie Ferguson. Chris Gayle was looking good but he couldn’t stay for long in the crease as he made 20 off 13 balls before Andre Russell dismissed him.

Sarfaraz Khan couldn’t continue his form from the last match as he score 13-ball 13 before Andre Russell dismissed him in the 8th over. Mayank Agarwal went after making a fantastic half-century. Piyush Chawla dismissed Agarwal for 34-ball 58.

David Miller was looking good but his half-century was not enough to take Punjab to the finishing lines. Miller stayed unbeaten as he scored 40-ball 59 while Mandeep Singh hit 15-ball 33 not-out.

Andre Russell took two wickets for Kolkata, while Lockie Ferguson and Piyush Chawla took one each.

First published: 27 March 2019, 23:38 IST