Home » india news » Jharkhand Election Results 2019: JMM's Hemant Soren leads over

Jharkhand Election Results 2019: JMM's Hemant Soren leads over

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 23 December 2019, 9:05 IST

State Welfare (Women & Child Development and Minority Affairs) Minister Lois Marandi after counting of postal ballots in Dumka seat in Jharkhand.

Counting of votes across 81 seats in Jharkhand Assembly has begun with the Congress-JMM-RJD alliance in a lead in the early trends.

Counting of votes for 81 Assembly constituencies in Jharkhand began at 8 am on Monday, Election Commission officials said. The election was held in five phases between November 30 and December 20.


Among the prominent candidates are Chief Minister Raghubar Das from Jamshedpur East, the chief ministerial candidate of the opposition JMM, Congress, RJD alliance Hemant Soren from Dumka and Barhait and former chief minister Babulal Marandi, also the president of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik), from Dhanwar.

Counting began at 8 am in all the district headquarters, the officials said.

Postal ballots will be taken up first and votes polled in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) will begin at 8.30 am, they said.


Also Read: PM Modi at Delhi rally: CAA and NRC have nothing to do with Indian Muslims

First published: 23 December 2019, 8:48 IST