Home » india news » Biplab Deb new Tripura CM, Debbarma Deputy CM

Biplab Deb new Tripura CM, Debbarma Deputy CM

News Agencies | Updated on: 6 March 2018, 15:13 IST

Tripura Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Biplab Kumar Deb will be the new Chief Minister of Tripura and the partys tribal leader Jishnu Debbarma will be the Deputy Chief Minister, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari announced here on Tuesday.

The newly-elected MLAs of the BJP met here on Tuesday in the presence of central observers and elected Deb as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party.

"Biplab Kumar Deb will be the new Chief Minister and Jishnu Debbarma the Deputy Chief Minister," Gadkari told reporters.

Also Read: Tripura polls: Can BJP win? Watch out for these 30 seats

Immediately after the announcement, Deb accompanied by Gadkari met Governor Tathagata Roy at the Raj Bhavan and staked claim to form a BJP government.

"We will give good governance in Tripura," the 48-year-old RSS-turned-BJP leader Deb told the media before meeting the Governor.

Also Read: Tripura polls: Only a ‘Congress Mukt Tripura’ can help BJP defeat Left Front

The BJP and its ally, the Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT), swept the February 18 polls, winning 43 of the 59 seats for which elections were held.

The BJP secured 35 seats in the 60-member Assembly and the IPFT, a tribal-based party, eight seats. The CPI-M got 16 seats while the Congress drew a blank.

First published: 6 March 2018, 15:13 IST