Home » cricket news » Ind vs Aus: MS Dhoni wins 'Man of the Series' award in ODI cricket after 7 years

Ind vs Aus: MS Dhoni wins 'Man of the Series' award in ODI cricket after 7 years

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 18 January 2019, 18:17 IST
MS Dhoni

Indian wicket-keeper batsman MS Dhoni was named Man of the series for scoring 193 runs in three matches including hat-tricks of half-centuries. This was Dhoni’s first Man of the series award since five-match home ODI series against England in October 2011. Overall, it was Dhoni’s seventh Man of the series award in ODI cricket.

For India MS Dhoni fought till the end like every match in the series scoring 87 runs off 114 balls, while Indian captain Virat Kohli scored 46 runs off 62 balls. Indian openers Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma scored 23 and 9 runs respectively. Kedar Jadhav scored 61 runs after making a comeback in the team.

Australia’s Peter Handscomb was the highest scorer for them, hitting 58 runs off 63 balls, Shaun Marsh and Usman Khawaja scored 39 and 34 runs respectively. Yuzvendra Chahal took his second five wicket haul in ODIs taking 6 wickets in 10 overs, giving away just 42 runs. Bhuveneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami took 2 wickets each giving away 28 and 47 runs respectively.

India won the three-match ODI series by 2-1, this is also India’s first bilateral ODI series win in Australia. Interestingly, this is only India second bilateral ODI series, the last time was in 2016, which they lost by 4-1. MS Dhoni was awarded the Man of the series award, while Yuzvendra Chahal was given the Man of the match award.

First published: 18 January 2019, 18:17 IST