Home » cricket news » 15-member Indian squad announced for India-New Zealand Test series

15-member Indian squad announced for India-New Zealand Test series

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 7 February 2017, 1:21 IST

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on 12 September, announced the 15-member Test team for India vs New Zealand series which is set to take place from 22 September to 12 October in India.

The team will be lead by captain Virat Kohli and the other players included in the squad are KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shikhar Dhawan, Amit Mishra, Umesh Yadav.

In the press conference post the selection meeting, Sandeep Patil, BCCI selection committee chief, said that the final call will be taken by captain Kohli and coach Anil Kumble.

There were clouds over the selection of Rohit Sharma owing to his dismal Test form recently but Patil said, "Rohit is a fabulous player, wanted to give him a fair chance."

Pujara has been taken in the squad post his strong performance in the Duleep Trophy. On the other hand, Amit Mishra, Shami, Ishant and Bhuvneshwar have been retained after performing well in the Carribean Islands.

First published: 12 September 2016, 1:24 IST